MINUTES

Ontario Small Urban Municipalities

Executive Committee Meeting

Friday, April 28th, 2023 at 11:45am

Conference Room at Town Suites by Marriott

Brant County

PRESENT:

Hilda MacDonald, Town of Leamington

Bob Kwapis, Town of Newmarket

Deb Doherty, Town of Collingwood

Ron Elliott, Town of Minto

Larry D. McCabe, City of Stratford

Gail Ardiel, Town of The Blue Mountains

Michelle Smibert, Municipality of Thames Centre

Lynn Dollin, Town of Innisfil

Tanya Vrebosch, City of North Bay

ABSENT.

Jamie McGarvey, Town of Parry Sound

Nicole Beatty, Town of Cobourg

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER:

Larry J. McCabe

ALSO PRESENT:

Brian Rosborough, Executive Director, AMO

Petra Wolfbeiss, AMO Staff

Victoria Van Veen, AMO Staff

BUSINESS:

1. The appointment of Chair and Vice-Chair.

Moved by: Lynn Dollin Seconded by: Ron Elliott

That Hilda MacDonald be appointed as Chair and Bob Kwapis as Vice-Chair of the Ontario Small Urban Municipalities Executive Committee for a term of 2023-2025.

CARRIED:

2. 2023 Annual Conference discussion.

At this time committee members offer comments on the 2023 conference. The comments were positive and all felt that the conference content was well received. The Committee thank AMO staff for all their hard work. The Conference was well run and sessions were very informative.

3. Communications.

The Committee are advised that a communications plan will be discussed at a future meeting. It is further noted that Redbrick have previously been involved in assisting in a future communications plan.

4. Member Lynn Dollin suggests that perhaps OSUM Executive Committee members can request a delegation at the 2023 AMO Conference in London on an issue that is important to Small Urban Municipalities. AMO Staff will take this under advisement as to the timing of the Province request for delegations and a possible issue of concern for Small Urban Municipalities.

ADJOURN:

Moved by: Ron Elliott

Seconded by: Gail Ardiel

That the OSUM Executive Committee adjourn at 12:06pm to meet again at the AMO Conference on Sunday August, 20th at 2:00pm. with further details to follow.

Chair, Hilda MacDonald

Administrative Officer, Larry J. McCabe